?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Rakshasa Question 
20th-Feb-2009 11:17 am
hiding
One of my players had a question about the Rakshasa, and I really don't know the answer. I had assumed that when a race has a template under "______ as Characters", that you could apply that template directly without the HD level increase associated with creatures who have an LA entry but no template. (If this were correct, a 10th-level character could be Rakshasa 7/Sorcerer 3, whereas ignoring the template a 10th-level char could not be a Rakshasa at all.)

We don't use large LA PCs often. Am I missing something here? The template says it includes 7 levels of Outsider, does this mean it adds 14 levels? The template definitely seems to give more benefits than 7 levels of Sorcerer would.
Comments 
20th-Feb-2009 11:29 pm (UTC)
That's what I figured, but using that logic, a Kobold Sorceror 1 is the equivalent of a Human Sorceror 2. Their LA under the "Kobold Characters" heading is +0, but they have 1 HD. I'm thinking that maybe the HD are only added for races which mention the racial levels...?
21st-Feb-2009 12:37 am (UTC)
If the race in the monster manual has only one hit die, you ignore that Hit Die. This is because the kobold in the monster manual is a first level warrior, like the gnome or elf. Warriors have a d8. That took me a bit to figure out, too.

But yeah, usually they'll mention the racial levels.
This page was loaded Jun 24th 2018, 2:39 pm GMT.