?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Rakshasa Question 
20th-Feb-2009 11:17 am
hiding
One of my players had a question about the Rakshasa, and I really don't know the answer. I had assumed that when a race has a template under "______ as Characters", that you could apply that template directly without the HD level increase associated with creatures who have an LA entry but no template. (If this were correct, a 10th-level character could be Rakshasa 7/Sorcerer 3, whereas ignoring the template a 10th-level char could not be a Rakshasa at all.)

We don't use large LA PCs often. Am I missing something here? The template says it includes 7 levels of Outsider, does this mean it adds 14 levels? The template definitely seems to give more benefits than 7 levels of Sorcerer would.
Comments 
20th-Feb-2009 11:27 pm (UTC)
*sigh* Will this never die out?

It's Sorcerer. Would you talk about a sorceross?
20th-Feb-2009 11:30 pm (UTC)
Jeepers, I'll edit it. Quit 'Sperging.
21st-Feb-2009 04:54 am (UTC)
Oh, that's a good mnemonic for remembering which one it is! I have trouble with it, for some reason. (Probably the blasted "editor/worker" suffix thing.)
21st-Feb-2009 06:43 am (UTC)
I suppose words like 'Emperor' don't help, either. Still, it seems so simple to me; it's hard to have patience with the proverbial fingernails hitting the chalkboard every time spontaneous spellcasters get discussed in the context of D&D.
This page was loaded Nov 16th 2018, 7:59 pm GMT.