?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Rakshasa Question 
20th-Feb-2009 11:17 am
hiding
One of my players had a question about the Rakshasa, and I really don't know the answer. I had assumed that when a race has a template under "______ as Characters", that you could apply that template directly without the HD level increase associated with creatures who have an LA entry but no template. (If this were correct, a 10th-level character could be Rakshasa 7/Sorcerer 3, whereas ignoring the template a 10th-level char could not be a Rakshasa at all.)

We don't use large LA PCs often. Am I missing something here? The template says it includes 7 levels of Outsider, does this mean it adds 14 levels? The template definitely seems to give more benefits than 7 levels of Sorcerer would.
Comments 
20th-Feb-2009 06:29 pm (UTC)
If you cang et your hands on Savage Species, it had a dealie in it for advancing a rakshasa from level one...
20th-Feb-2009 11:04 pm (UTC)
I love that book. Very useful.
20th-Feb-2009 11:51 pm (UTC)
That's what the player tried first, but he got confused by it quickly. Something about Sorcerer levels every other level and instakill holy crossbow bolts. I haven't bothered to read it yet, since he latched onto the MM version.
21st-Feb-2009 12:42 am (UTC)
Well you have to keep in mind that SS is working off the 3.0 version of the monster, so a lot of those versions don't match up.
This page was loaded Jun 24th 2018, 2:28 pm GMT.