?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
grappling monks 
17th-Oct-2008 01:47 pm
...
I've got a couple questions about how to interpret the rules for a Grappling Monk. I'm looking for ruling in 3.5, preferably with page numbers to back up the claims.

First, the rules for grapple state you can make one grapple attempt per melee attack you can make. My first question is, does this include the extra attacks you would get from Flurry of Blows? It seems to me that you could use them together so that a level 1 Monk could make 2 grapple checks in as a Full Round action, with a -2 penalty to each required melee touch attempt.

Second, if I'm already grappling, can I use Flurry of Blows to make multiple grapple checks for things like Pinning or Punching in the grapple? If so, how is the Flurry penalty (-2) applied? Making an unarmed melee attack while grappling requires an opposed grapple check, not an attack roll, so I'm not sure there would be a penalty... although it would make sense for the -2 to be applied to the Grapple roll, I see no rules text to back that up.

Third, are there any rules for disarming someone while grappling? I could swear I've read something about this somewhere, but I can't find anything. The only related references in the Players Guide are about snatching "well-secured items" while grappling (with some text that makes this seem like its not referring to weapons) and attacking a player with his own light weapon while grappling (fun, but not what I'm looking for).

If it matters (and it probably won't), the Monk in question has Imp. Grapple and is level 3 (Flurry penalty -2).
Comments 
17th-Oct-2008 09:10 pm (UTC)
does this include the extra attacks you would get from Flurry of Blows? It seems to me that you could use them together so that a level 1 Monk could make 2 grapple checks in as a Full Round action, with a -2 penalty to each required melee touch attempt.

Correct, these are all melee attacks that you can make.

can I use Flurry of Blows to make multiple grapple checks for things like Pinning or Punching in the grapple? If so, how is the Flurry penalty (-2) applied? Making an unarmed melee attack while grappling requires an opposed grapple check, not an attack roll, so I'm not sure there would be a penalty... although it would make sense for the -2 to be applied to the Grapple roll, I see no rules text to back that up.

You can use FoB to make grapple attempts, which are attack actions, but not a grapple check, which is a standard action.

are there any rules for disarming someone while grappling?

You could grapple check to make an unarmed attack, and turn your unarmed attack into a disarm attempt.

Edited at 2008-10-17 09:10 pm (UTC)
17th-Oct-2008 09:16 pm (UTC)
Ah, thanks, the distinction between grapple checks and attack actions makes sense to me...
17th-Oct-2008 10:57 pm (UTC)
I think the multiple attacks only apply to the melee touch attacks required to initiate a grapple. So you can try and try again, but once you succeed, it's just a single grapple check per round, regardless of how many attacks each individual gets.
18th-Oct-2008 12:19 am (UTC)
Nope.

From the SRD:
"Damage Your Opponent
While grappling, you can deal damage to your opponent equivalent to an unarmed strike. Make an opposed grapple check in place of an attack."

The grapple replaces an attack action. If you get multiple attacks, you can make multiple grapples.

My DM refuses to acknowledge this. -.-
18th-Oct-2008 12:57 am (UTC)
Hmm. You're right. That applies for if you're trying to use an unarmed strike or something similar, sure, but that doesn't sound like it works for pinning or holding, just attacking.
18th-Oct-2008 01:25 am (UTC)
Sorry, let me continue:

"Pin Your Opponent
You can hold your opponent immobile for 1 round by winning an opposed grapple check (made in place of an attack)."

So you can make multiple pinning attempts (because they are attacks). "Holding" just means remaining in a grapple (which you do for free as long as you don't leave).

In general, grapple checks replace attacks.
18th-Oct-2008 02:57 am (UTC)
Yeah, it probably would have helped if I had looked it up instead of attempting to go by memory. :P

In that case, I would probably apply the -2 penalty to the grapple checks as you would normally do.

Now that I'm here with the SRD... to disarm someone, you have to pin them first, then make a disarm attempt, but they get a +4 bonus against you.
20th-Oct-2008 04:26 am (UTC)
OK, so how about that question about disarming as part of a grappling attempt? How would you translate a maneuver from something like, say, krav maga, wherein you would obtain an initial grapple of an armed opponent's wrist, lock that wrist and hyperextend the elbow, while removing the cutlass from his hand? I am really curious about how this would be judged.
9th-Dec-2008 07:25 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
ive been playing dnd for a while and while ive yet to be asked that quest i my self have wonderd it as well. since i DM a game i decided to make a house class up that uses grapple as its sole form of attack. taking the idea of such thigs as disarming graple attackt to choke holds and neck breakers. i got a good friend of mine to play the class and he had a lot of fun tering up heavy armord warriors and silencing even the most talkitive mages.
This page was loaded Oct 18th 2017, 4:58 pm GMT.