?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Stacking enchantments 
4th-Aug-2006 12:47 pm
Milkman Dan
A while ago, my PC enchanted his +2 heavy shield with the effect of a phylactery of undead turning. He paid 1.5 times the cost of a phylactery to do this. (It was to avoid having to choose between two useful items for the head slot. Besides it looks cool.)

Now, if he were to further enchant the shield to increase the bonus to +3, would he still have to pay 1.5 times the usual cost? Or just the regular cost?
Comments 
4th-Aug-2006 04:21 pm (UTC)
No. The 2 effects are independent. The standard enhancement for a shield is enchanted as normal.
4th-Aug-2006 05:48 pm (UTC)
Personally, I'd rule that the cost would be the cost of a +3 shield less the cost of a +2 shield, phylactery aside.
4th-Aug-2006 06:17 pm (UTC)
Yeah, that's what I meant by regular cost. I wasn't clear.
4th-Aug-2006 09:41 pm (UTC)
Regular cost.

The 1.5 times cost for the phylactery is a one shot thing. If you want, think of it as a Spiked Shield. The shield can be a +5 Shield and the spikes remain at +1 if you didn't further enhance them.
This page was loaded Nov 18th 2017, 5:39 pm GMT.