?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
As long as we're asking Warforged questions today, here's one about… 
16th-Jun-2006 06:10 pm
Great Owl
As long as we're asking Warforged questions today, here's one about the Spellcarved Soldier (Races of Eberron).

At fourth level, the Spellcarved Soldier gains an ability called Rune of the Archmage which, in addition to allowing the character to gain the benefit of three rings simultaneously, also allows the Warforged to wear and gain the benefits of Robes.

Then, say, can a Warforged with this ability gain the benefits from both the Adamantite Body feat and some kind of magic Robe, or would this ability function only with the defaulted Composite Armor (and the Unarmored Body feat, obviously)? Does the "considered to be wearing Heavy Armor" from Adamantite Body supercede the "can wear and gain the benefits of robes" from Rune of the Archmage? How would you rule and why?
Comments 
17th-Jun-2006 01:25 am (UTC)
Don't forget that Adamantine Body can only be taken at 1st level. And don't forget that lovely arcane spellcasting failure chance. As a DM, I would not have it interfere with the ability to wear robes, although it would be an interesting sight. Warforged are magical creations, but I wouldn't consider it interfering with robes (as if you were trying to wear 2 sets of robes) so long as you have the Rune of the Archmage.

The "considered wearing heavy armor" is a bit tricky. The composite armor says that the plating occupies the armor space, but doesn't specifically say "considered wearing armor". It is a tough call, but I'd still allow the Rune of the Archmage. They are close enough (composite and andamatine) that *to me* they have the same intent.
17th-Jun-2006 02:03 am (UTC)
The composite plating occupies the armor space but doesn't count as armor, yes, but Adamantite Body and Mithral Body both specify that it does count as wearing armor, which is why I was having the difficulty in the first place.

As for the spell-failure chance, I was using an Artificier for the arcane prereq rather than a Wizard or Sorcerer.
18th-Jun-2006 02:47 pm (UTC)
Sounds like a Fighter wearing chainmail and looking at a robe: the fighter is allowed to wear the robe. They just have to take their armour off first.
18th-Jun-2006 05:05 pm (UTC)
So the Warforged has to skin itself?
18th-Jun-2006 06:46 pm (UTC)
Exactly, and it can't, so the ability it has to wear a robe can't be exploited.
18th-Jun-2006 07:12 pm (UTC)
... Maybe you're missing the point of the Rune of the Archmage ability granted to it by the Spellcarved Soldier prestige class.

Only Warforged can take this class and a Warforged is going to have composite plating (occupies armor slot) by default. At creation, you could take the Unarmored Body feat in order to be able to wear a robe, but then there would be no reason to specify that Rune of the Archmage grants you the ability to wear and benefit from a robe.
18th-Jun-2006 08:29 pm (UTC)
I see your point: the armor slot is the thing wearing a robe takes account of, and Mithril Body etc. doesn't affect whether that slot is occupied or not. It *does* determine whether you are armoured or not, but that isn't relevant.
19th-Jun-2006 01:09 am (UTC)
That's what I'm running into trouble with. Out of hand, I would say that it wouldn't work.

But then I look at the other classes and see that Barbarians with Adamantite Body (counts as Heavy Armor according to feat description) can still Rage and Monks with Mithral Body or Adamantite Body (counts as Light Armor and Heavy Armor respectively) still have full access to all of their Monk abilities.
20th-Jun-2006 08:23 pm (UTC)
Armor doesn't affect a Barbarian's ability to Rage, so the first point isn't relevant. They do lose their fast movement, as does the Monk: see the first entry on Warforged in main rules FAQ.
20th-Jun-2006 08:42 pm (UTC)
Sorry, I meant Fast Movement, not Rage.

"[Fast Movement] only applies when he is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor ..." -Player's Handbook

"The barbarian speed bonus offsets the lower speed imposed by [the Adamantite Body] feat." -Races of Eberron

The only downside Races of Eberron cites for monks taking Adamantite or Mithral Body is that they "cause you to take penalties on many skills important for monks".
This page was loaded Sep 25th 2018, 12:52 pm GMT.