?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
familiars and feats 
3rd-May-2006 10:29 pm
valar morghulis
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/classes/sorcererWizard.htm#familiars

Do familiars get feats for their "effective" HD as their masters advance in class level?

I didn't think so, but reading the entry here makes me wonder...For the purpose of effects related to number of Hit Dice, use the master’s character level or the familiar’s normal HD total, whichever is higher. Does "gaining feats" count as an "effect related to the number of Hit Dice" ?

Also, how do you folks deal with spellcasting prestige classes and familiar advancement? I've always played that prestige classes (e.g. Archmage) do *not* count towards a familiar's abilities, but the wording is really unclear.
Comments 
4th-May-2006 02:38 am (UTC)
no
4th-May-2006 02:44 am (UTC)
To the first question, or both?

And is this intuition or a clearly stated rule somewhere?
4th-May-2006 02:52 am (UTC)
no to the first question. familiar isn't a class. depending on how you look at it, its not even a creature. its a class benefit, and the abilities the familiar has are benefits of having atained a certain level in a specific class. they get clearly defined bonuses and abilities listed on the familiar abilities table in the phb. if they got feats that would be listed on the table.

as to the second question, if the prestige class grants a level in spellcasting ability, i would have, in the past, allowed a familiar the next level's worth of abilities. but the rules seem pretty clear.

All familiars have special abilities (or impart abilities to their masters) depending on the master’s combined level in classes that grant familiars, as shown on the table below. The abilities given on the table are cumulative.

now that i've read that, i'd say no. i wouldn't.
4th-May-2006 02:54 am (UTC)
to clarify, if the prestige class in question allows the summon familiar ability, or specifically states it grants another level of familiar ability, then i'd grant the level of ability. if it doesn't, i wouldn't.
4th-May-2006 06:45 am (UTC)
Under normal situations it would, but Familiars are extensions of the spellcaster. If, for example, a Familiar has 3 HD before becoming a Familiar, it would have 2 feats, but otherwise ... no. Typically, also, what feats a Familiar gets are outlined in its description in the Monster Manual.

And Familiar advancement doesn't carry over to prestige classes unless they have the Obtain Familiar feat.
This page was loaded Dec 11th 2017, 8:34 pm GMT.