?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Line of Sight 
28th-Feb-2006 09:14 am
Bitch Please - peanuts
This came up in my last game. What are the actual rules for drawing line of sight? Can I shoot at a bad guy from behind another character? I thought this was represented by the -4 for firing into melee, but the DM said (with some uncertainy, because he wasn't sure) that the character blocked line of sight. I flipped through the PHB and the SRD looking for the exact rules on drawing line of sight, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Thanks!
Comments 
1st-Mar-2006 01:30 pm (UTC)
Er, -below +above.
1st-Mar-2006 06:51 pm (UTC)
Ah, fantastic.

I was pretty sure I'd seen the "both of you pick" syndrome in a Sage Advice column, but either way, the GM would usually pick the square that's going to give cover anyway ;)
1st-Mar-2006 06:52 pm (UTC)
And you're right, I think I may have been mixing it up with the "big creature" rule.

Cover is not normally something that comes up in our games, as we seem to have a predisposition to either ending combats in one round or playing the long range bombardment game.
1st-Mar-2006 07:30 pm (UTC)
I see. At least some of my players have played either Alternity, Star Wars (WEG), Star Wars d20, or d20 Modern, where, in a firefight, "no cover" usually equalled "dead character", with "no chance of resurrection" (those games are in order from hardest to survive a firefight to easiest to survive a firefight; none are as easy as D&D, though).

<grin>
1st-Mar-2006 07:31 pm (UTC)
Let's have a moment of silence for WEG Star Wars D6...

On another note, I never, ever expected this topic to go on this long :-p
1st-Mar-2006 10:50 pm (UTC)
I've done both Alternity and d20 Modern.

All of the games tended to involve very little gunfighting. When it did break it, it was usually over very quickly, cover or not. ;)
This page was loaded Aug 19th 2019, 11:23 pm GMT.