?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Line of Sight 
28th-Feb-2006 09:14 am
Bitch Please - peanuts
This came up in my last game. What are the actual rules for drawing line of sight? Can I shoot at a bad guy from behind another character? I thought this was represented by the -4 for firing into melee, but the DM said (with some uncertainy, because he wasn't sure) that the character blocked line of sight. I flipped through the PHB and the SRD looking for the exact rules on drawing line of sight, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Thanks!
Comments 
1st-Mar-2006 11:32 am (UTC)
I've always had the impression that if any line is clear it works.
1st-Mar-2006 01:26 pm (UTC)
Other way around. If any line is blocked, they have cover.

"To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC)." (SRD, emphasis mine)

What you might be mixing it up with is the "big creatures" rule, which only applies in melee, and allows the attacker to choose which square of the big creature to attack.

"Any creature with a space larger than 5 feet (1 square) determines cover against melee attacks slightly differently than smaller creatures do. Such a creature can choose any square that it occupies to determine if an opponent has cover against its melee attacks. Similarly, when making a melee attack against such a creature, you can pick any of the squares it occupies to determine if it has cover against you." (SRD)
1st-Mar-2006 05:41 pm (UTC)
It's stuff like this that makes me quite glad we rarely use minis in the games I'm in. Although sometimes they are handy too.
1st-Mar-2006 05:46 pm (UTC)
In most cases, it should be obvious whether something or someone is providing cover to a target or not. These rules should only ever come into play if there's a question, or a marginal situation. If the DM wishes, the DM can ignore these rules, and make an ad hoc decision about it. However, I think it's best if a DM fully understands these rules before making such ad hoc decisions, or their ad hoc decisions are likely to be incorrect when examined, and create unpleasant precedence.
1st-Mar-2006 05:50 pm (UTC)
I'm in 100% in agreement with you, and thanks I think this seems to be something that was confusing a number of us and you've been very helpful in clarifying it.
This page was loaded Jun 26th 2019, 3:47 am GMT.