?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Line of Sight 
28th-Feb-2006 09:14 am
Bitch Please - peanuts
This came up in my last game. What are the actual rules for drawing line of sight? Can I shoot at a bad guy from behind another character? I thought this was represented by the -4 for firing into melee, but the DM said (with some uncertainy, because he wasn't sure) that the character blocked line of sight. I flipped through the PHB and the SRD looking for the exact rules on drawing line of sight, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Thanks!
Comments 
1st-Mar-2006 01:52 am (UTC)
Well, in this case, that affects the protection of the target, so B gets a cover bonus to AC against A, but not against D, or against anyone who ignores cover bonuses to AC (an arcane archer's Phase Arrow ability, for instance).

If, however, A was in the area of a bane spell (and had failed their saving throw), while D was not in the area, or had succeeded at their saving throw, A has a penalty to hit while D does not.

In the first case, the target's position is relevant, which makes it affect the target's AC. In the second, the ability of the attackers is relevant, which makes it affect their attack rolls.
This page was loaded Jun 26th 2019, 4:30 am GMT.