Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Weapon Resizing and Attacks of Opportunity. 
3rd-Oct-2005 08:32 am
Two things. Err, questions.

One: Is there a rule that clearly states weapons and/or armor does not resize from magic items? If so, what page is it? I'm not finding it. (Yes, I understand this is the same topic I mentioned last time I posted.)At this point, I have declared that weapons and armor both do not resize in my game (but everything else does), I'm just wanting to know for reference purposes.

Two: Does using a touch spell when you are engaged in melee combat (both people are already next to each other on the square grid) provoke an attack of opportunity? If so, why? Is it because of components of the spell? And, if this is the case, does a touch power (for psionics) provoke an attack of opportunity, since they have "displays" instead of "components?" Is there such a feat or rule within fighting that allows you to bypass, such as casting on the defensive?

3rd-Oct-2005 03:41 pm (UTC)
"Is there a rule that clearly states weapons and/or armor does not resize from magic items?" There is no rule that says they do. Absence of a rule on a thing does not equal allowance of the thing. There is no rule that says my character can't lay golden eggs. That doesn't mean he can.
3rd-Oct-2005 04:19 pm (UTC)
However there is an example in one of the books. It talks about a party of adventurers fighting a creature using large +2 short swords. The Halfling was drooling over them but the DM had to tell him, "Sorry. They're large."
3rd-Oct-2005 03:42 pm (UTC)
Casting the spell does provoke an attack of opportunity as casting any spell incurs an attack of opportunity. Discharging a readied touch spell does not incur an attack as a charged touch attack is considered being armed.
3rd-Oct-2005 03:48 pm (UTC)
Item Two:
The following si a cut/paste from the SRD, emphasis mine:
"Touch Attacks
Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. However, the act of casting a spell does provoke an attack of opportunity."

So, casting the spell, yes, AoO. Making the touch attack, no AoO. Therefore, if you can cast on the defensive and not provoke an AoO with the spellcasting, you also do not provoke one from the touch attack.
I strongly suggest bookmarking the following site:
3rd-Oct-2005 04:20 pm (UTC)
Unless the character is casting defensively and makes the appropriate Concentration check...
3rd-Oct-2005 04:26 pm (UTC)
I said that. Second sentence after the SRD quote.
3rd-Oct-2005 04:29 pm (UTC)
Very good. :P
3rd-Oct-2005 07:32 pm (UTC)
Does a psion provoke an AoO or just a caster? If a psion does, can the psion "manifest defensively?" (I've never heard of such a thing personally.)
3rd-Oct-2005 10:00 pm (UTC)
Manifesting a power is, indeed, an action that evokes an attack of opportunity, unless otherwise noted. And you can manifest powers on the defensive. I believe the rules are almost identical for this purpose.

3rd-Oct-2005 07:31 pm (UTC)
That still doesn't clarify if you can do it with psionics or not, though, since psionics isn't casting--there's no components involved.
3rd-Oct-2005 08:26 pm (UTC)
A mage can cast a still, silent, spell with Eschew MAterials, and it still provokes an AoO. It's not that he's doing something smack-worthy, it's that he's focusing on something other than getting-the-hell-out-of-the-way, which is what Casting Defensively represents.
4th-Oct-2005 03:51 am (UTC)
I don't have my books handy, but, do I recall that changing-size-to-fit-any-user is an ability a magical-weapons smith can instill? At something like a +1 modifier?

Whatever, I think the "sized weapons" was a mistake in 3.5, because it limited the weapons a character could weild. To minimize the inconvenience, I would allow weaponsmiths to modify even a magical weapon (a Large handaxe becoming a Medium battleaxe) with the same result points needed to create a masterwork weapon in the first place.

This page was loaded Jul 17th 2018, 1:53 am GMT.