Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
1st-Aug-2005 01:37 pm
Two things that baffles me as a DM.

1.) Someone explain to me how Dimension Door can be used by person A to pull person B out of a grapple. It's not so much that I want to rule against it yet as I can't logically put it together in my head.

2.) Can a psionic character use Incarnate to make True Seeing permanent? Can an arcane character use Permanency to make True Seeing permanent?
1st-Aug-2005 08:50 pm (UTC)
1) Even Dimensional Anchor applies to both characters in a grapple. By definition, they are essentially occupying the same space.

2) The spells that can be made permanent through Permanency are listed in the description of the spell.
1st-Aug-2005 09:42 pm (UTC)
Dimension Door allows you to bring one additional, willing character with you: you couldn't bring the grappler (too) even if you wanted to. They are in the same square(s) but are not the same character.
1st-Aug-2005 08:54 pm (UTC)
1) Its magic. Don't force too much logic on it.

Essentially, the caster steps through a magic door, taking anything s/he is holding and wants to take with them. They pull the essence of their companion with them through the door.

2) It is a DMs call either way; True Seeing is not on the suggested-always-allowed list. it'd cost the arcane caster 3000 XP, and require a 16th level caster, by my calculations, if it were allowed. I'd probably allow it, but it depends on the game.
1st-Aug-2005 08:56 pm (UTC)
Okay. Lidda is being grappled and crushed to death by the Ogre. Mialee joins the grapple and casts Dimension Door, with herself and Lidda as the target. Actually, she only needs to touch Lidda to bring her along - so I would call for a touch attack roll in this case.
1st-Aug-2005 10:01 pm (UTC)
You can have a free touch "against" allies in a turn for every ally you can reach. If you ever consider a touch against an ally an attack, you open a can of worms that allows Cleric to use the "Attack Defensively" option to get a near-free Armour Class boost when healing an ally (a '1' would still miss) and our party's invisible Monk would have become visible for "attacking" the character he rescued with an Abundant Step last week!

(Apparently, if you are being grappled by a Large creature you are treated as being in all four of their squares, so if you have trouble reaching all your allies in a turn for a spell like Teleport, arrange to have them grappled by Ogres to smear them around a bit!)
2nd-Aug-2005 12:13 am (UTC)
I wouldn't count it as an attack unless the "ally" was an unwilling target of the touch. However, when you're grappling someone and your ally tries to touch you in order to target you with a spell, they have a chance of missing due to the confusion of the grapple. Hence the "touch attack" roll.
2nd-Aug-2005 01:10 am (UTC)
Funny, I don't have a chance to miss a grappling character when I attack with a weapon. I'm just gonna grab my boy and DD outta he~eere.
2nd-Aug-2005 01:12 am (UTC)
Right, there's no chance to miss. You just declare your strike and roll for damage.
2nd-Aug-2005 01:14 am (UTC)
No special chance due to grappling confusion. Plus the grappler is denied dex, not that my friend is avoiding me in the first place.
2nd-Aug-2005 01:46 am (UTC)
If you read the description Dimension door isnt really a door. Its a minor teleport really. You point and vanish period.
This page was loaded Jun 21st 2018, 11:19 pm GMT.