August 23rd, 2005

Monkey

Psionics & Action Points

OK, I have started expirementing with action points in my setting [1]. I am using the full rules in the Unearthed Arcana, complete with special sues and feat boosts.
Here is what I want to put forth to the great minds of our time:
How should I handle AP's and metapsionic feats? Metamagic feats are easy, as there is only one factor: increased spell level. However, metamagic feats requrie two things: expend psionic focus, and extra PP's. Now, I think it would be too much if an AP got rid of both, but which one should it get rid of?
Also, spellcasters get recall of a cast spell, if they spend the action point on the same round that they cast the spell. How should I handle that for psionics? I can't just say you don't spend the PP's, as there is augmentation to consider.
Thoughts? Comments? Accusations of improper behavior in a public library?


[1] The setting is highly psionic. There is no arcane magic, just divine (including the divine bard variant from Unearthed Arcana). I'm a big fan of some of the UA varients, and am using many in the setting.
...
  • coderay

D&D Group

This is a long shot, but I don't suppose there are any D&D groups in the SF Valley (Sherman Oaks/Van Nuys) that have room for a stranger to join as another player or even a DM. I'm Jonesing for some D&D bad. Help!
venga bus

(no subject)

So i'm dead set on playing a bard. I've searched every splat book for 3.5 out there, and last night i cracked open the Planar Handbook. Lo and Behold, the Sensate PrC. It's literally everything i wanted and more. Near full caster progression, a little multiclassing (i was going to take druid 1 anyway), and most importantly, it allows me to keep expanding my Bardic Knowledge bonus. My main question is this...

Bards are automaticly proficient with whips, an exotic weapon. Part of the requirements for higher level gain is proficiency with an exotic weapon, but not necessarily the feat ExWeapProf. The sample character has bard levels and the ExWeapProf feat. Seems redundant if my reading of the rules is right. Am i going to have to waste a feat slot? Doesn't seem like i should, but just getting a consensus.