Here's a dilemma we faced last night: I'm playing a wizard, and Transmute Rock to Mud is becoming my signature spell. We faced two iron golems on a beach, and my fellow players contended that sand was just many tiny rocks and thus could be converted to mud. I pointed out that the most common element in most rock (if not all) is silicon, which is also the primary element in sand. We ended up trapping one golem in a passage through a beach-facing cliff, and I led the other out to sea, having drunk an Alter Self potion and changing to a Kuo-Toa.
So my question is this: does sand count as rock? The DM's ruling was it had to be something commonly recognized as rock, otherwise one could use the spell against glass or just about anything with silicon. (Does silicone contain silicon?)
- Music:Pink Floyd - 9/22/72