Now.. we all know how the Mystic Theurge class works, it's one of the most broken friggin prestige classes there is. If not.. here's the breakdown: Each level you gain as a Mystic Theurge, you gaine +1/+1 spellcasting level to your Divine/Arcane spellcasting levels.
When you hit level 2 as a spellsword, you assign +1 spellcasting level to one of your previous spellcasting classes. If I assign this +1 level to Mystic Theurge (which IS a spellcasting class), does this mean that I get the +1/+1 spellcasting level to my Divine/Arcane spellcasting levels?
Loophole in the rules that allows me to make a ridiculous character, or something I'm just missing?
The exact wording:
Mystic Theurge Spells Per Day:
+1 lvl of existing arcane spellcasting class/+1 lvl of existing divine spellcasting class
This trend continues every level for 10 levels.
Spellsword Spells Per Day:
+1 level of existing class
Problem: "She does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained, except for an increased effective level of spellcasting".
Technically... the way I'm reading this, a Spellsword could level up as a Spellsword and still gain the benefits of the Mystic Theurge class (+1/+1 Arcane/Divine) without ever dumping any levels into Mystic Theurge again.
A Cleric/Wizard/MT/Spellsword could indeed run around wearing a suit of mithral fullplate, casting Arcane and Divine spells at the same rate/level, and have no armor penalty assigned to his Arcane spells.