?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Trolls!! 
16th-Jul-2004 01:34 pm
Void
Can you kill a troll without using fire or acid?
Comments 
16th-Jul-2004 10:49 am (UTC)
You could use disintegrate or any other spell which causes instant death, or you could render it unconsciousand use a wish or miracle to keep it dead, a la the Tarrasque.

But honestly, how hard is it to render it unconscious with whatever weapons and spells you want and then fire up a torch and finish him off with that?
16th-Jul-2004 10:51 am (UTC)
The group I'm in seems to think it cant be done unless you have fire or acid, but I argue different. I tell them knock them down then light them up.
16th-Jul-2004 11:10 am (UTC)
Anonymous
An eraser in the HP box could work...
16th-Jul-2004 11:10 am (UTC)
har har har...
16th-Jul-2004 11:11 am (UTC)
Deal enough subdual damage to knock it unconcious then coup de gra it by chopping its head off

no fire needed.

Its just harder to do it that way because of its healing/regen.

16th-Jul-2004 11:23 am (UTC)
That won't work. Trolls will regen even from decapitation. The death blow, if you're trying to kill it with physical damage, must be "real" damage, which means it must be a form of damage the troll cannot regenerate.

All the damage used to knock it out can be nonlethal, though.

Also, trolls can be slain through drowning or poison, since regeneration doesn't affect such forms of damage.
16th-Jul-2004 11:37 am (UTC)
IIRC, you can kill them with a bag of holding, since there is no air inside, and they can suffocate.

I'm fairly sure there are quite a few other ways to kill trolls, but I'd have to ask our resident expert, and he's not around right now.
16th-Jul-2004 12:05 pm (UTC) - Yes
Death attacks.

coup-de-grace with fire or acid

suffocation

special anti-regeneration magic

accellerate it through time so it dies of old age.

poison (get its CON to 0, and it's dead.)


And, though you'd have to check the rules, I'd say the death-from-massive-damage rule should apply.
16th-Jul-2004 01:41 pm (UTC) - Re: Yes
Only if the massive damage comes from fire or acid. Otherwise, it's nonlethal damage, and the death-from-massive-damage rule doesn't apply to nonlethal damage.
16th-Jul-2004 03:23 pm (UTC)
Due to the newer rules (3rd edition and later), you can indeed kill a troll by bringing its actual HP total down to -10. Once you deplete subdual damage everything is actual damage.

Just look at regeneration in the DMG or the Monster Manual.
16th-Jul-2004 03:32 pm (UTC)
Actually, regeneration is an exception to that rule, though it certainly wouldn't be a bad house rule to implement.

Note that it specifically says, under regeneration, that the coup de grace cannot be of an attack that automatically converts to nonlethal damage.
16th-Jul-2004 04:45 pm (UTC)
Looks like the best way would be beat the damn thing unconscious, then dump it on a bonfire.
16th-Jul-2004 04:57 pm (UTC)
Eat them, then let your stomach acids go to work.
17th-Jul-2004 02:57 am (UTC)
works great in nethack, but... stomach acid is still acid and he was looking for other methods... :)
17th-Jul-2004 02:59 pm (UTC)
Well, your group can always just on save or die spells that deal no damage. The trick to optional methods of slaying a regenerating creature is stay away from the obvioius damage-dealing routes and instead stick to a way that can kill a creature through an avenue apart from damage (ie. suffocation, power word, kill).
This page was loaded Nov 18th 2017, 3:48 pm GMT.