?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Wands, and who can use them 
8th-Mar-2004 06:24 pm
Godlike
A player asked me about wands, and I can't locate a rule for them...

Specifically, I was asked which classes can use wands of Cure Moderate Wounds, Cure Serious Wounds, etc. I'm not able to find anything definite in the 3E PHB. Also, if things have changed between 3E and 3.5 -- or if anyone has any house rules that have worked well, please let me know!

Thanks muchly!
Comments 
8th-Mar-2004 03:41 pm (UTC)
Wands are spell-completion items. A character with a spell on his class spell list--even if he's not high enough level to cast it--can use the wand. Thus, a wizard can use a wand of fireball, because fireball is on the wizard's spell list. A bard could not, nor could a druid, because fireball isn't on their spell list.

However, a character with the Use Magic Device skill can overcome this with an appropriate roll. Don't know the numbers off-hand.
9th-Mar-2004 03:44 am (UTC)
As for the answer to the "Cleric on a stick":

Clerics and Druids can use the Divine version starting at 1st level.

Rangers and Paladins can starting at 4th (which is when they have a caster level).

Bards make arcane versions of Cure wands.

Anyone with Use Magic Device can attempt to activate the wand as well.

Hope this helps.

ps: GREAT ICON...Godlike is my favorite KMFDM song
This page was loaded Dec 17th 2017, 10:25 am GMT.