?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Hey, if a Rogue/Monk gets Evasion twice, does he get Improved Evasion? 
21st-Feb-2004 12:18 pm
leonal
Hey, if a Rogue/Monk gets Evasion twice, does he get Improved Evasion?
Comments 
21st-Feb-2004 09:30 am (UTC)
No.

Evasion is not addative. (now, if there were some effect that took evasion away, it is debatable if the character would need to be effected twice).

You'll note for items that do stack (Uncanny Dodge) that effect is explicitly mentioned in the description
21st-Feb-2004 09:32 am (UTC)
If you can talk your DM into it.

I myself wouldn't give it to you, since that way you can get Improved Evasion at (after a quick glance at my PHB) 3rd level (Monk1/Rogue2) rather than normally at Monk9 or Rogue10.
22nd-Feb-2004 08:31 pm (UTC)
Heh...I had the same question about a 3.5 rogue/ranger.

The idea of evasion not stacking, btw, seems patently nonsensical.  In any game that I ran, it would stack.

-Qit
23rd-Feb-2004 06:48 am (UTC)
unfortunately, no

because they give the same kind of bonus, they overlap

Rules Of The Game: Does It Stack?

This is a link to a series of articles from the Wizards site about bonuses and when to know if they stack or not...might be useful
23rd-Feb-2004 09:08 am (UTC)
My question regarded Evasion, as it wasn't a bonus, but class ability.
24th-Feb-2004 08:19 am (UTC)
i know..but i do think it's relavent...evasion as a class ability essentially boils down to an enhancement bonus...i could be wrong though....i'll take a look through my books and see what i can come up with
24th-Feb-2004 11:22 am (UTC)
It's not really a bonus at all, it just effects how reflex saves work.
25th-Feb-2004 06:57 am (UTC)
yer probabably right....i'll have to double check...
25th-Feb-2004 04:27 pm (UTC)
well... you were right....but the books say nothing bout overlapping abilities...so i would be inclined to judge based on the rule of overlapping bonuses and say no, you can only get evasion as a class ability once, since improved evasion would eventually be made available at a higher level....
This page was loaded Dec 17th 2017, 10:25 am GMT.