?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
A simple question... 
24th-Jun-2007 02:07 pm
Gonzo Dagger
Looking at making a special ability of some creature i'm still brewing in my head....the ability is a mark/tattoo which in effect is like a curse. But it'll leave a physical mark...i'm thinking about the save. It'll be applied as the creature touches the target...debating if it should be a fort save...since its a physical mark or should I use a will save since its curse-like?

Suggestions?

PS...talking with a friend, seems it'd be more will, a physical mark effecting the mental facilities. I'm leaning to will, but just thinking about the marking effect....dont care to use a fort then a will save. two saves for one effect? no.
Comments 
24th-Jun-2007 05:24 am (UTC) - My take:
The thing they're saving against is the curse effect. Make that a Will save. The tattoo is an outward manifestation / effect of the curse. It comes along for the ride.
24th-Jun-2007 02:51 pm (UTC) - Re: My take:
I concure.
(Deleted comment)
24th-Jun-2007 12:39 pm (UTC)
touch attack...some physical contact...however its done.
24th-Jun-2007 11:54 am (UTC)
2 saves for a single effect has an established precedent in Phantasmal Killer and Polymorph Any Object (or is it Baleful Polymorph...I forget).

It should really depend on the severity of the effect though. If it'll kill you, going through 2 defences is customary (2 saves or roll to hit and save, that sort of thing).

This sounds a lot like the Necrotic Cyst in effect...cast a spell with a long lasting effect that could be bad for the target. You might compare the two.
24th-Jun-2007 12:38 pm (UTC)
it wouldn't kill them, just give them a curse of sorts, say -2 on dex, or -2 on saves, etc etc. still meddling with ideas.

I have never heard of Necrotic Cyst. where is it from? (yes i'm aware i'm out of touch with dnd :) )
25th-Jun-2007 01:28 pm (UTC)
Liber Mortis, or however it's spelled. Nasty little spell.
24th-Jun-2007 05:04 pm (UTC)
the question isn't "how does the attack strike" but "how does the PC resist?"

If they're resisting by force-of-will, it's a will save. If they're resisting by strength of flesh, it's a fort save.

This page was loaded Aug 23rd 2017, 6:06 am GMT.