?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
A little help if you would 
5th-Dec-2003 06:30 am
PipBoy
I was reading my 3.0 PHB and I came across a couple of things that I need some "plain english" translations for.

First of which is the following, "+2 Bonus on Opposed Attack Rolls". I think this means a +2 bonus when attacking someone with this weapon (Flails). Please confirm or correct.

Second, "A creature using a double weapon in one hand, such as an ogre using a dire flail, can't use it as a double weapon". I am not honestly sure on this one.

Thanks in advance for all help,
Quartermane
Comments 
5th-Dec-2003 04:27 am (UTC)
Certain attacks (disarm, for one, if I remember correctly) require opposed attack rolls, in which both combatants roll attack rolls and the highest result wins.

If an Ogre is wielding a double weapon (a quarterstaff, for example), he can only take one attack with it, not the usual d6/d6 (each end of the staff), no matter how well tuned his wrists are :)
This essentially means that to get both attacks with a double-bladed sword/quarterstaff/dire flail/and so on, you need to be wielding it two handed. Since the creature in question is the same size or larger than the weapon, they have the option of wielding it one-handed, but cannot use it as a double weapon.

Rambling, I know, but I hope it is clear.
5th-Dec-2003 05:59 am (UTC)
to clarify the second issue a double weapon is usually a size category larger than the wielder so an ogre which is large cannot use a large quarterstaff an a double weapom the same way a medium human cannot use an medium gnome pickhammer as a double weapon. both exaples can only use one end of the double weapon effectively.
5th-Dec-2003 12:15 pm (UTC)
however if that Q-staff is size catagory "huge" then he may use it as a double weapon.
7th-Dec-2003 05:43 pm (UTC)
exactly
5th-Dec-2003 03:15 pm (UTC)
Opposed attack rolls are also involved in grappling. Some DM's may extend the opposed attack rolls all the way to bull rushing even though the attacker isn't so much looking for weak spots to take advantage of (attack roll), but is rather trying to slam into his opponent as hard as he can (strength check).
5th-Dec-2003 01:14 pm (UTC)
lol...yeah but huge to an ogre is probably like the size of a small tree...but yes it has been explained pretty good so far...if he had a weapon that was made for him..with the purpose of using it as double then it could work...
6th-Dec-2003 01:40 am (UTC) - Thanks and Clarifications
Okay I got the opposed attack understood, now I just want to make sure about the double weapon. If a creature is using a dire flail (for example), than he is entitled to the 2 attacks given by it. Only however, if the dire flail is a size catergory larger than the creature weilding it. If the creature weilding the weapon is the same size as the dire flail he only gets one attack. Did I get it right?

Thanks Again,
Quartermane
6th-Dec-2003 08:29 pm (UTC) - Re: Thanks and Clarifications
This is precisely why the wording was changed in 3.5 - because it is confusing.

In 3rd Ed however - yes, a weapon must be one size category larger to grant two attacks for a double weapon. Although you can use a weapon of the same size category as you in two hands in oreder to get a 1.5 Str bonus, if you want to (which is usually when you're using a coup de grace), but not for two attacks. A weapon two size categories larger or more can't be used at all.


In 3.5 weapons are simply designated light, one-handed or two-handed and come in different versions for small and medium characters (and presumably for larger characters) - using a weapon of the wrong size has penalties attached and shifts the category up or down. So a two-handed weapon designed for a medium character, if wielded by a large character, becomes a one-handed weapon.
The 3.5 rules are especially good for small characters (halflings, gnomes), because they have access now to the whole gamut of weapon options - in a practical form (you don't have to make any calculations- it's been done for you).
7th-Dec-2003 12:38 am (UTC) - Re: Thanks and Clarifications
I have not got to 3.5 yet, starting with 3.0 and working up. Of course 2 suppliments I own and most if not all of my friends still use 3.0 over 3.5 but I got a good deal on both sets of books so I will adjust as the players want I guess. Thanks for the response.

Quartermane
This page was loaded Aug 22nd 2017, 7:16 am GMT.