?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
mirror image and displacement 
26th-Oct-2006 05:15 pm
Just a quick spell interaction question.

Should the spells mirror image and displacement stack with each other? In other words, should the displacement effect be applied to all of your mirror images as well? The rules are not entirely explicit about this. I think it would be a judgment call on the part of the DM. What do you think? Is there a rule I have missed that governs this situation?

Thanks in advance!
Comments 
26th-Oct-2006 09:31 pm (UTC)
Since Mirror Image says that the extra images 'levitate when you levitate', I would assume that they take on the visible aspects of any spells you cast. Since displacement is just a visible distortion, I would rule that they DO stack. You must first select which image to attack (random roll?) then, as part of than attack, account for the concealment given by Displacement.

Nice combo.
26th-Oct-2006 10:38 pm (UTC)
Thanks. That's the ruling I made when one of my players used it. It is indeed quite powerful.
26th-Oct-2006 10:30 pm (UTC)
Yes, they stack. All of your images benefit from the Displacement affect.
27th-Oct-2006 08:52 am (UTC)
I dunno... the spell description only describes *physical* emulation....not magical...snap judgement right now would be no, they don't stack... only the real you would get the benefit...but i'm gonna look it up on the Wizards site and see if there is a new errata that clarifies this (the one I have, (ver 09072004) doesn't say anything...
27th-Oct-2006 02:13 pm (UTC)
The more I think about it, the more I want to agree with you. Both of the effects are illusions, and it doesn't seem to make sense for something that isn't actually even there at all to be in a different place than you think it is.
27th-Oct-2006 02:46 pm (UTC) - My two copper pieces
I'd say no, because the images are meant to be decoys and struck instead of the caster. Therefore they become more viable targets. The Displacement effect on the other hand applies to the caster, and confers all goodies listed in the spell.
27th-Oct-2006 05:15 pm (UTC)
I would say Yes they do stack but you would see if you hit an image it winks out. If you hit the PC then the 50% chance is rolled. The 50% chance does not work on the multiple images, the mage who casts it.
27th-Oct-2006 08:08 pm (UTC) - That's what I was trying to say...
Probably the best way to play it out. If you apply the displacement to the images you essentially halve the chances that an attack hits the character. At which point a rival mage will just say "Funk that," and Fireball the area until it glows.
27th-Oct-2006 09:33 pm (UTC) - Re: That's what I was trying to say...
I've never seen Mirror Images still in use at a power level where Displacement is used for pretty much that reason. I would say that Displacement is actually the next evolutionary step up in defensive Illusions from Mirror Image.
28th-Oct-2006 07:40 am (UTC) - ...at least I admit when i'm wrong.....
...and this is one of those times.... the DEFINITIVE answer, straight from WOTC and the updated D&D main rules FAQ

If the user has concealment from her surroundings, the images have the same concealment. The images also look just like the caster, and they share purely visual effects such as the Blur or Displacement spell. If the Mirror Image user is also using either of these effects, an attack aimed at an image has the same miss chance an attack aimed at the caster does.

(D&D Main FAQ v.3.5, update version 10/18/06, page 58)
28th-Oct-2006 02:02 pm (UTC) - Re: ...at least I admit when i'm wrong.....
Hey, thanks a lot! I was hoping there would be an official ruling somewhere.
29th-Oct-2006 07:24 am (UTC) - Re: ...at least I admit when i'm wrong.....
no prob.....i'd advise going to the website and downloading all the errata for the books you own, and the FAQ as well...maybe print them out if you can...easier to look this up when you need it

aaaaaaanyway, glad I can help
This page was loaded Nov 19th 2017, 8:46 am GMT.