?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Random question time: I'm a medium-sized dude wielding a large-sized… 
4th-Oct-2006 08:40 pm
Evil Drew
Random question time:

I'm a medium-sized dude wielding a large-sized halberd. Do I or do I not have reach?
Comments 
4th-Oct-2006 11:25 pm (UTC)
There are no rules that say a larger weapon grants or extends reach, so lacking natural reach, and given that the halberd isn't a reach weapon, I would say no.
5th-Oct-2006 12:13 am (UTC)
As trejo says, weilding a larger weapon does not give you reach. So no, you do not have reach.
5th-Oct-2006 01:20 am (UTC)
Reach being a property of either weapons, or races, if you don't have reach and it isn't a reach weapon, you don't have reach.

Similarly a Large sized race (with reach, as not all have it) wielding a reach weapon has an even greater reach than normal.
5th-Oct-2006 01:37 am (UTC)
Doesn't a Halberd have reach anyway?
5th-Oct-2006 07:10 am (UTC)
Halberds don't have reach on their own - if you look at the scale drawings in the PHB, they're about as long as a quarterstaff, which is only 2/3 the length of the reach weapons shown next to it.
5th-Oct-2006 08:17 pm (UTC)
The scale drawings leave much to be desired.

I don't have the books in front of me, but I was under the impression that a Halberd had reach, but couldn't be used to attack adjacent foes. I suppose I'm wrong on this one, though.
5th-Oct-2006 02:41 am (UTC)
Depends how many levels of Dude you have, obviously. You don't get Swinging Tree Trunks At People Two Squares Away as a class feature until Dude Level 5.

I did think halberds had reach, though.
5th-Oct-2006 08:15 am (UTC)
halberd isn't a reach weapon. But if you have another dude cast on you Enlarge...
5th-Oct-2006 12:19 pm (UTC)
If another dude did infact cast enlarge on you, you would be able to use your halbred in one hand and still have reach. You could even use a dudesword in the other hand, but would take a -6/-10 penalty.
5th-Oct-2006 09:55 pm (UTC)
If the Dudesword is long or shorter and medium-sized and you practised in two-dude-weapon fighting the penalty would be only -2/-2 And you'll still get reach!
%) MegaDude!
This page was loaded Nov 18th 2017, 3:26 pm GMT.