?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Rules question: 2W Fighting + Flurry of Blows 
14th-Aug-2006 12:21 am
DrG Don't know me
Situation: Monk with quarterstaff, low level, with 2-Weapon Fighting feat

If said monk wished two use the Quarterstaff with flurry of blows and 2-weapon fighting at, say, level 1, would he have three attacks, each with a -4 penalty, not accounting for other applicable modifiers?
Comments 
14th-Aug-2006 07:43 am (UTC)
Uh... a link to a zip file?
14th-Aug-2006 07:54 am (UTC)
That's how they distribute it, to encourage people to consult local copies rather than hammering the web server all day for a 702K file, I think.
14th-Aug-2006 07:56 am (UTC)
If you don't want to click on that you can go here and click on
Game Rule FAQ.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rules
14th-Aug-2006 08:25 am (UTC)
I just downloaded it, thanks =)

And it appears I was correct. The extra attack is possible, and the mods stack as listed. Awesome.
14th-Aug-2006 02:33 pm (UTC)
According to the FAQ and Skip Williams, yes. You can two weapon fight and then flurry.

This is commonly disallowed as a house rule. Run it by your DM first.
14th-Aug-2006 03:00 pm (UTC)
Skip Williams says that they stack. Most people from Wizards, even, contest this ruling, though.
14th-Aug-2006 03:02 pm (UTC)
Also, if you read the precise wording in the PHB, it's far more likely to rule that they do not stack (as the description of Flurry of Blows cites using different attacks as part of a Flurry; first attack unarmed, second attack quarterstaff, third attack unarmed, fourth attack other end of the quarterstaff, for example).
14th-Aug-2006 06:48 pm (UTC)
That was a large source of my confusion, but I sought further clarification. I'm going to rule in favor of the feat, though. As the party's only combatant in a small party, I think I'm gonna let him use the feat with the flurry. RIght now, they're all level 1, and he has no significant other bonuses to attack, so I think the total -4 bonus will definitely provide some counterweight to the usefulness.

If he were too obviously twinking out the character, then I'd rule against it. But aside fromthe feat and the flurry, the character is mostly geared towards diplomacy and social graces.
14th-Aug-2006 10:26 pm (UTC)
At level 1, I'd almost say he's better off not using it just to be able to hit stuff.

But I agree with your ruling in this specific instance.
This page was loaded Dec 11th 2017, 8:43 pm GMT.