Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Divine "Bards" in DnD 
27th-Feb-2006 01:33 pm
DrG Don't know me
What I'm looking for is some kind of holy class or prestige class that has music-based abilities. One of my players is playing a Paladin with max ranks in Perform: Sing, and he is always singing hymns in battle, and I thought it would be nice to offer him, through roleplaying, an avenue into a cool prestige class.

So, are there any good song-based divine prestige classes out there?

EDIT: Also, I know I read it somewhere but I can't remember. Do effects from multiple bardsongs stack?

EDIT2: Well, looks like I found my answer: "Divine Bard" in Unearthed Arcana. Looks interesting. Anyone got any other suggestions?
27th-Feb-2006 09:39 pm (UTC)
A friend of mine was telling me about a Divine Bard class he read about in one of the books, though unfortunetly the name of said book skips my mind. I made a pristige class that was sound/song based for one of my campaigns seemed to work out pretty well after I ran it through a beta game. Mine is called the Master of Sounds, really fun class to play or so I have been told.
27th-Feb-2006 09:47 pm (UTC)
"Also, I know I read it somewhere but I can't remember. Do effects from multiple bardsongs stack?"

I think some do while others might cancle one another out, I would have to ask my friend who's speciality is Bard.
27th-Feb-2006 09:47 pm (UTC)
War Chanter is intended for chaotic characters, but you may want to tweak it for lawful use.
27th-Feb-2006 10:22 pm (UTC)
Bonuses from the same source never stack. While 2 different bard songs are technically different sources, the source is effectively the same (as if you had 2 Bull's Strength spells cast on you).

Also, Morale bonuses don't stack. Only Dodge and Circumstance bonuses (and unnamed, from different sources) stack.
28th-Feb-2006 12:34 am (UTC)
Circumstance bonuses including Inherant, Competency, Enhancement, et cetera?
28th-Feb-2006 12:48 am (UTC)
Circumstance bonuses are their own type, seperate from Inherent, Competency and Enhancement. Enhancement is usually one of the big examples of a bonus type that doesn't stack.
28th-Feb-2006 02:04 am (UTC)
So if I have a Shield +5 and a Breastplate +5, I don't get a +10 enhancement bonus to armor?
28th-Feb-2006 02:08 am (UTC)
Aren't shields considered Deflection bonuses?
28th-Feb-2006 02:18 am (UTC)
"Magic armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses)."

Quoted from the DMG, pages 216 and 217. Emphasis mine.
28th-Feb-2006 02:27 am (UTC)
An example of where these enhancement bonuses would *not* stack would be: casting Magic Vestment on your +3 Full Plate Armor. They overlap, but do not stack. So if "Magic Vestment" grants a +5 bonus, your armor becomes +5 armor, not +8 armor.

Is this all making sense?
28th-Feb-2006 02:32 am (UTC)
Yes, because that's the same type of bonus on the same piece of equipment. I'm saying that they stack conditionally.

For example, enhancement bonuses from shields and enhancement bonuses from armor.

That's way different from, say, Bracers of Armor and a Chain Shirt or a Ring of Protection with an Amulet of Protection, both of which don't stack and are providing the same type of bonus from different sources.

Is this all making sense?
28th-Feb-2006 02:39 am (UTC)
Poifectly. ;-)
28th-Feb-2006 02:40 am (UTC)
Huzzahs all around!
28th-Feb-2006 02:23 am (UTC)
Uh...shields are a "shield" bonus. An armor's enhancement bonus counts with its armor bonus: for example, full plate armor with an enhancement bonus of +3 provides an "Armor" bonus to AC of +11.

Carrying a heavy steel shield with an enhancement bonus of +5 would provide a +7 "Shield" bonus to AC.

Neither of these bonuses counts towards a touch attack. (I'm not sure about shields and being flat-footed.)

I'm not sure on natural armor and natural-vs.-enhanced natural armor, either. Anyone who wants to clarify these would be more than welcome.
28th-Feb-2006 02:23 am (UTC)
A deflection bonus is like a Ring of Protection. Shields are chunks of wood and metal, not magical bubbles of Force. That's how I interpret the rules, anyway.
28th-Feb-2006 10:30 am (UTC)
Well no, enchancement bonuses increase the bonus of the items, so it's a +5 to your armor bonus and a +5 to your shield bonus, which both stack. But you wouldn't benefit from a Belt of Giatn's Strength and a casting of Bull's Strength, which both give enhancement bonuses to strength.
28th-Feb-2006 02:32 pm (UTC)
Circumstance bonuses are bonuses based on the character's current circumstances.

A character, in a tree, trying to find an NPC hiding in a glade.
As a GM, I might give them a few circumstance bonuses. They're on higher ground, so that's a +1 to spot something on the ground (maybe). They're on familiar territory, because they are a ranger and this is teh flade where they first trained, so that's a +2. THis is an NPC they've run into before and they know his style, so another +2 circumstance. So, those all would stack. They'd also stack with a +5 enhancement item (Eyes of Eagle, or similar), a wish used to improve their spot skill (Inherent), etc.
28th-Feb-2006 05:34 pm (UTC)
I know, I was being somewhat sarcastic by bringing up other bonuses that stack (conditionally with the enhancement bonus).
28th-Feb-2006 12:47 am (UTC)
There is a feat in Complete Adventurer called Devoted Performer. Allows paladins to freely multiclass with bard and removes to bard's chaotic only restriction. Both class levels can stack for purposes of Smite and Bardic Music uses per day.
28th-Feb-2006 12:59 am (UTC)
D'oh! I was going to talk about that feat. Great feat.

Divine Bard link:
(I think the link is slightly broken, you may have to scroll down.)
28th-Feb-2006 05:28 pm (UTC)
Enhancement bonuses never stack.

A +5 Shield does not grant an enhancement bonus to Armor Class; it provides a +6 or +7 shield bonus to Armor Class. The +5 is an enhancement bonus to the shield's shield bonus.

Similarly, a +5 breastplate grants a +10 armor bonus to Armor Class, where the +5 is an enhancement bonus to the breastplate's armor bonus.

Note that the sole exception to the above rule (magical projectile weapon and magical ammunition) has been removed in 3.5; there are no longer any exceptions to this rule. Enhancement bonuses do not stack.
28th-Feb-2006 05:29 pm (UTC)
Huh, weird. This was intended to be a response to i_am_the_owl's post, above.
2nd-Mar-2006 03:50 am (UTC)
That's happened to me before, too. I think LJ just has some issues. Unless it's a browser thing--are you using Safari?
This page was loaded Nov 18th 2017, 6:05 pm GMT.