?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Metamagic questions. 
3rd-Jan-2006 11:33 am
bitch
1) When you upgrade a spell with metamagic feats, does the counterspell go up as well?

For example, fireball is a third level spell. If you use a maximized, empowered fireball, is it the same as counterspelling an eighth level spell, or a third level spell? Does it effect the dispel magic check?

2) Can you use the same metamagic feat twice?

For example, an extended shield spell cast by a 5th level caster becomes a 2nd level spell that lasts 10 minutes. Can you make an extended, extended shield spell as a 3rd level spell that lasts 20 minutes?

I apologize if the answers to these questions seem obvious.
Comments 
3rd-Jan-2006 08:02 pm (UTC)
Only Heighten Spell actually increases the spell level. so you can counterspell a maximized empowered FB with a 3rd level spell
3rd-Jan-2006 08:12 pm (UTC)
That's what I thought, but I wanted to make sure. Otherwise Heighten Spell would seem a little pointless. Thank you. :-)
3rd-Jan-2006 08:10 pm (UTC)
No.
3rd-Jan-2006 08:12 pm (UTC)
No to what? #2?
3rd-Jan-2006 08:12 pm (UTC)
Both of them.
3rd-Jan-2006 08:15 pm (UTC)
The first one really isn't a yes or no question. It's a 3 or 8 question. :-/ I got an answer earlier though, so that's fine.
3rd-Jan-2006 08:17 pm (UTC)
"When you upgrade a spell with metamagic feats, does the counterspell go up as well?"

That was your first question, to which the answer is "no".

That other guy pointed out the exception of Heighten Spell.
3rd-Jan-2006 11:00 pm (UTC)
Just to put an official spin on it for the rules-friendly folks:

1) "Metamagic feats are not taken into account when determining whether a spell can be countered."
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicOverview/magicOverview.htm#counterspells

2) "A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can’t apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell."
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/feats.htm#metamagicFeats
4th-Jan-2006 05:01 am (UTC)
1) When you upgrade a spell with metamagic feats, does the counterspell go up as well?

You don't so much "upgrade" a spell as you do "add-on" to its cost. A maximized, empowered fireball is a 3rd level spell that has to be cast using an 8th level slot.

2) Can you use the same metamagic feat twice?

Only if your GM allows it. By core, no, but I've never seen anyone run a core D&D game as their regular game. (If your GM doesn't like the idea, it's entirely possible that you can learn dupliate metamagic effects as new custom talents -- i.e., "Greater Extended Spell" that triples the duration for a +2 slot level.

(Note that, even if you are able to apply metamagic feats together, they follow the normal D&D rule for doubling--that is, a "+X" effect instead of a "xY".)
This page was loaded Sep 25th 2017, 4:39 am GMT.