?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Chill Touch 
27th-Oct-2005 11:25 am
chocobo
the Chill Touch spell has a target of "Creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)". How does this work?

Does it just charge like a normal touch spell, so you can continue to use this spell for up to one round per level? Can you touch multiple opponents in the same round (as part of the casting)? Can you touch the same guy multiple times (even in the same round)?
Comments 
27th-Oct-2005 05:42 pm (UTC)


You can get a single touch attack for free with the casting of a spell, regardless of how many attacks-per-round a full attack gets you.

One the spell is cast, it is like you are armed with a weapon that works for X attacks. NB it doesn't last for "X rounds": you can hold the charge as long as you like, even after a few attacks, but just don't touch anything vulnerable to negative energy with that hand!

If you are allowed multiple attacks, they can alll be with the same Chill Touch and the effects stack (because it deals Negative Energy damage and STR damage: if it dealt a negative STR enhancement like Ray of Enfeeblement does, it would overlap) and each attack uses up one "go".

(Annoyingly it just affects one hand, so you can't exploit touch attacks being easy by two-weapon-fighting with it)
27th-Oct-2005 05:44 pm (UTC)
admit it... you just like touching people.

:-P
27th-Oct-2005 05:50 pm (UTC) - For Reference When Discussing the Spell
From the SRD:
Chill Touch
Necromancy
Level: Sor/Wiz 1
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Targets: Creature or creatures touched (up to one/level)
Duration: Instantaneous
Saving Throw: Fortitude partial or Will negates; see text
Spell Resistance: Yes

A touch from your hand, which glows with blue energy, disrupts the life force of living creatures. Each touch channels negative energy that deals 1d6 points of damage. The touched creature also takes 1 point of Strength damage unless it makes a successful Fortitude saving throw. You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level.

An undead creature you touch takes no damage of either sort, but it must make a successful Will saving throw or flee as if panicked for 1d4 rounds +1 round per caster level.
This page was loaded Aug 18th 2017, 8:09 pm GMT.