?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Artificers 
21st-Oct-2005 11:27 am
fugginawesome
Although this has likely been covered somewhere before, I can't find any mention of it. Therefore, I've turned to my friendly (sometimes) neihborhood d&d community to ask:

Does an Artificer suffer from spell failure?

The Eberron Campaign Setting book says nothing about it, although it does say: "Infusions are neither arcane nor divine; they are drawn from the artifcer infusion list (see Chapter 5: Magic.) They function just like spells and follow all the rules for spells."

So...does that include the spell-failure, or does it not? I would assume that it does, but they're also proficient with all armor and shields, and it doesn't have the whole "Armor of any type interferes with..." thing that would denote spell-failure.

I would assume yes, but if I were sure about that I wouldn't be asking.
Comments 
21st-Oct-2005 03:36 pm (UTC)
I'd say no; armor interferes with arcane spell-casting specifically (the failure chances are listed as arcane spell failure). Since infusions aren't arcane, and the artificer class says nothing about spell failure, this is good evidence that they do not suffer from this limitation.
21st-Oct-2005 03:41 pm (UTC)
That stands to reason. The only reason I would say that they do is because whenever I'm in doubt as to whether or not something would suffer a certain consequence, they always seem to. -_-;
21st-Oct-2005 03:40 pm (UTC)
Artificers do not.

Spell failure is an Arcane issue. Therefore, no arcane spell failure for infusions.
21st-Oct-2005 03:46 pm (UTC)
Thankye much. :)
21st-Oct-2005 05:23 pm (UTC)
shoulda just immed me, you know I'm mr eberron. :-D
22nd-Oct-2005 04:36 pm (UTC)
Lol, true.

But I neglect AIM these days. I'm either on MSN or X-fire, but mostly X-fire.
22nd-Oct-2005 03:26 am (UTC)
nope no spell failure!
22nd-Oct-2005 04:37 pm (UTC)
Wexcellent.
This page was loaded Nov 22nd 2017, 3:10 pm GMT.