?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Just wanted to share this idea with you all... 
11th-Jul-2005 03:59 am
wicked handclasp
Warlock lvl 12 to get imbue item. And then: Candle caster. Oooooooooh. The possibilities.

EDIT: Thanks to the clear thinking of i_am_the_owl, I have been shown the error of my ways. Woops. Clickie to see the discussion.
Comments 
11th-Jul-2005 09:03 am (UTC)
Depending on how the DM adapts the Candle Caster, a Warlock may not be able to qualify for it.

Just throwing that out there.

It's an interesting idea, though.
11th-Jul-2005 09:13 am (UTC)
I suppose that's true. But, they compare a candle to a scroll, just a different medium. Since scrolls are magic items, I assumed it would be pretty comparable.
11th-Jul-2005 09:19 am (UTC)
Yes, but Warlocks don't have the ability to cast arcanse spells as invocations don't count as arcane spells, merely spell-like abilities.
11th-Jul-2005 09:24 am (UTC)
"Imbue Item (Su): A warlock of 12th level or higher can use his supernatural power to create magic items, even if he does not know the spell s required ot make an item. ... he can substitue a Use Magic Device check (DC 15 + spell lvl for arcane spells, 25 + spell lvl for divine spells) in place of a required spell he doesnt know or can't cast."

^_______________^
11th-Jul-2005 09:26 am (UTC)
That doesn't change the fact that he wouldn't qualify to take the Candle Caster class in the first place.
11th-Jul-2005 09:55 am (UTC)
...HOw so? it says he needs the ability to cast "spells" (does not state if they should be arcane or divine) of 3rd level or higher. By that time, the warlock will be able to cast spells of that level...
11th-Jul-2005 10:00 am (UTC)
No, because Warlocks don't cast spells at all. They even outline this on page 18 of Complete Arcane in terms of qualifying for prestige classes as a Warlock.

Anyway, your idea would work much better simply using the Artificer class from Eberron and not worrying about esoteric prestige classes at all. In fact, it'd be much better.
11th-Jul-2005 10:16 am (UTC)
Hmm. I see what you're saying. Perhaps I'm misinterpreting the errata... :/

Change “An eldritch blast is the equivalent of a spell
whose level is equal to one-half the warlock’s class
level (round down), with a minimum spell level of 1st
and a maximum of 9th when the warlock reaches 18th
level or higher” to “An eldritch blast is the equivalent
of a 1st-level spell. If you apply a blast shape or eldritch
essence invocation to your eldritch blast (see page 130),
your eldritch blast uses the level equivalent of the shape
or essence.”

I took this to mean that it was considered a spell now... *shrugs* I haven't gotten enough sleep. I should definately be better rested before trying to decifer rules. ;)
11th-Jul-2005 10:25 am (UTC)
Woops, forgot a bit of the errata.

"Any other references to eldritch blast being something
other than the equivalent of a 1st-level spell should be
disregarded."

As I said, I'm tired. I think I was placing the wrong focus on that statement... they were talking about the 1st lvl thing... whatever. Me sleepies now.
11th-Jul-2005 09:23 am (UTC)
Wasn't candle caster one of those godawful "slightly different type of scroll PrCs" from Tome and Blood?
11th-Jul-2005 09:25 am (UTC)
Yes. I liked the idea of using candles, but not so much the actual rules given by the class for implementing them. Until now. With Warlock, it becomes quite a useful prestige class.
12th-Jul-2005 12:31 am (UTC)
what exactly is candle caster?
This page was loaded Nov 22nd 2017, 2:55 pm GMT.