Okay, so if I were to cast a spell when standing within 5 feet of an enemy, that enemy gets an attack of opportunity, right? And if that attack hits, then I have to succeeded a concentration check, DC 10+damage dealt, right?
But I can take a 5 foot step back and avoid the AoO, right?
so in that case... in last night's game, I was casting a spell in combat and I took the 5 foot step back, thus avoiding the AoO. However, in this case, the spell in question was one that took a full round to cast. According to the PhB, it would then come into affect at the beginning of my next turn. So, when the enemy took their turn to apprach and attack me, does that mean that I am still casting the spell, and thus still need to succeed a concentration check?
The GM and I weren't sure and we assumed this was the case, but do any of you know where in the rules books it would address this issue? Is the concentration check only for attacks of opportunity, or for any time when you are attacked during the casting of a spell? And if a spell takes a full round action, does that mean that you are casting it until the beginning of your next turn, or just that it doesn't come into affect until that time?