?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Here's a quick question: A spiked chain can be used as a reach… 
12th-May-2005 05:46 pm
chocobo
Here's a quick question:

A spiked chain can be used as a reach weapon or against an adjacent enemy. Would it require some kind of action to switch how the weapon is being used (like shortening or lengthening the amount of slack you attack with)? A rule would be perfect, but lacking that opinions are great.
Comments 
12th-May-2005 11:49 pm (UTC)
I don't believe there's any actions involves. It's just part of the swinging.

For that matter, you can drop an adjacent opponent with the spiked chain and use Cleave to attack an opponent 5' away.
12th-May-2005 11:51 pm (UTC)
Free action, a spiked chain in use would be constantly in motion and would be thrown out and drawn back without stopping as part of it's normal use, adjusting the reach would be a simple flick of the wrist.
13th-May-2005 12:57 am (UTC)
No need, it allows you to attack the reach squares and the adjacent squares. :) What really needs clarification (guess I should walk down the hall and ask, but I am too lazy) is what happens with a size Large spiked chain which covers the adjacent squares, and the spots 3 or 4 squares away. Does it also threaten the squards that are 2 away? Logic says yes, strict reading of the relevant passages, not so clear...
13th-May-2005 04:06 am (UTC)
Yes, an Ogre with Improved Trip, Whirlwind Attack, and a Spiked Chain is really that vicious.
13th-May-2005 05:29 am (UTC)
Yup, I have a half-ogre built to do that (though not the whirlwind attack, too many feats to be worthwhile).
13th-May-2005 06:33 am (UTC)
If the weapon requires an action to adjust the reach, it says so in the weapon description. For example, look at the "Longaxe" in "Complete Adventurer." That weapon can shift from 5 to 10 foot reach but has to stay at the same reach for the duration of your turn.

The spiked chain has no such requirement. You can use it at 5 or 10 feet, as you choose.

JT
13th-May-2005 12:44 pm (UTC)
Ah, that must have been what I was thinking of. Thanks.
14th-May-2005 02:08 pm (UTC)
I would say no.

Look at Gogo's use of a chain in Kill Bill Vol. 1. It's a simple matter to swing close or far.
This page was loaded Sep 24th 2017, 12:23 pm GMT.