?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Arcane Strike 
28th-Feb-2005 05:24 pm
leonal
Ok, this feat (CWarrior) lets you drop a spell in addition for melle sweetness, but say the cahracter has maybe a 15 in his spell casting stat. Could you sacrifice a 6th level spell slot evne though the cahracter can't cast spells of that level? i know those slots can be used for lower-level spells, would Arcane Strike be the way a less-than-exemplary caster could get the most out of those slots? Particularly if multiclassed with a fighting class who might wear armor instead of cast.
Comments 
28th-Feb-2005 11:30 pm (UTC)
now I havent read CW yet, but as far as I know (from other sources) a spellcaster can only sac known spells/already available spell slots, so if they don't have the stat to cast at a certain level, no go
1st-Mar-2005 12:43 am (UTC)
I'm inclined to disagree. He can't cast a level 6 spell with a 15 Int/Cha, but he CAN, for example, Heighten a Hold Person to that level, or Quicken a Melf's Acid Arrow. (At least, I haven't seen any indication he can't). So I wouldn't have a problem with him burning the slot to this Feat ... unless after playtesting it proves too powerful, of course.
1st-Mar-2005 01:37 am (UTC)
I'll have to take a look through a book or 2, but i am fairly certain that even metamagicked spells can't be cast at a level that a PC does not have access to...those examples you used would push the spells beyond his capabilities....and even if i'm wrong, i would still subject it to the same rules for casting a scroll that's beyond one's abilities..

but i'll geek out tonight and root around in the rule books to see what they might say/imply
1st-Mar-2005 09:33 pm (UTC)
ok, after tearing through the resources that I have (the core books, and all FAQs and errata) about the only thing that i found was in the feat descriptions: all of which say that the metamagicked spell now takes a spell slot x levels higher....which would imply that you would need to be able to cast spells of the new level in order to use the metamagicked spell...for example an Empowered Magic Missile would be considered a 3rd level spell rather than a 1st level for the regular spell....

so, hate to say it, but I don't think you can get away with it, not until you gain that extra stat point....
1st-Mar-2005 10:27 pm (UTC)
Hey now, access to a spell slot and the ability to cast a certain level of spells isn't the same thing . . . or at least that's what I'm arguing.

Failing that, I'd better learn Eagle's Splendor.
1st-Mar-2005 10:54 pm (UTC)
i know......access represents skill (level) and ability implies learning ability/talent (int/cha)

but all the sources i have access to point to the argument that if you dont have the requisite stat, it cant be done.... you simply pushed the spell beyond your capability....in order to have access, you must have the ability....

however, nothing at all is mentioned about stat boosing spells....and Eagle's Splendor might be the only loophole you have
4th-Mar-2005 01:57 am (UTC)
Personally, I'm of the opinion that if it doesn't specifically say that you can't, then you can.

If you've gotten yourself some spell slots that are going otherwise unused because your requisite stat modifier isn't high enough, and you find a way to make them useful, kudos to you! You've salvaged a major part of your character.

As far as the Metamagic goes (which isn't the main issue here, but I have to add my input anyway :P), I'm fairly certain that since the new spell takes up a slot higher than the one it previously occupied, you would have to actually have access to the spell level to use/cast it.

As far as the feat goes, I'm pretty sure all it says is "sacrifice a spell slot to gain..." while saying nothing of actually casting any spell. Regardless of being able to cast a spell of a higher slot because of a low spellcasting-tied Stat, a character still gains those spell slots upon leveling up.

Look at it this way: if a Wizard fell prey to a Touch of Idiocy and his Int dropped below 10, could he cast spells? No. Does he still have the spell slots that he had 2 seconds ago? Yes.
This page was loaded Oct 20th 2017, 7:01 am GMT.