?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Wands 
4th-Feb-2005 06:25 pm
bitch
Sorry for two posts in one day, I just had another interesting topic come up among the players.

Can a player recharge a wand once it is made? One of the players has a wand of magic missile and wants to know if he could give the wand a 'refill,' so to speak. Also, do wands exist that do multiple things, like a wand that holds five different spells?
Comments 
5th-Feb-2005 02:52 am (UTC)
I believe the answer to your first question is not. You can get a refillable wand, though - it's called a staff. ;)

As far as your second question... well, with a staff, yes. But, I don't think wands can. Because the difference is that wands can be used by non-magic users. Theoretically, how would a person with no experience casting spells know how to manipulate a wand to cast one spell versus a different one? Unless I'm wrong, the difference with staffs (staves?) is that they can only be used by arcane or divine spellcasters, and thus by people that have the ability to manipulate their spells.

...

PLEASE someone correct me on this if I'm out of bounds.
5th-Feb-2005 03:20 am (UTC)
A wand is a spell-completion item and so can only be used by someone who would normally be able to cast that spell (has the spell on his class spell list). Think repeating scroll.

Unless you have the Use Magic Device skill and make a check.
5th-Feb-2005 03:18 am (UTC)
Check page 211 of the DMG:

"A wand is a short stick imbued with the power to cast a specific spell." In other words only one spell.

Alternatively, "A staff has a number of different (but often related) spell effects" and "a rod is a scepterlike item with a special power unlike that of any known spell". Make sense?

In 2e wands could do all kinds of different stuff; this distinction was introduced in 3e and finally differentiates between the three types of items.

As for recharging, normally an item with charges cannot be recharged. As a DM you could allow items to recharge, and I refer you to the "Making Magic Items" articles on Wizards website. I seem to recall seeing some info about possible prices for recharging items in there (or at least a 'per charge' cost)
5th-Feb-2005 03:54 am (UTC)
nope, no recharging, and no multiple action wands.
5th-Feb-2005 04:07 am (UTC)
It's easy to house-rule wands to be rechargeable. The simplest is to merely charge them the same XP and GP that it costs to make a new wand - "this is the cost incurred to refill the reserves"

I would give a discount, though. Maybe 10% of the price? Something like that.
5th-Feb-2005 04:55 am (UTC)
What Retch said.
5th-Feb-2005 05:28 pm (UTC)
Can a player recharge a wand once it is made? One of the players has a wand of magic missile and wants to know if he could give the wand a 'refill,' so to speak.

As a short line, "yes." He can simply create a new, fully-charged wand using his current wand to recieve the discount mentioned earlier.

Also, do wands exist that do multiple things, like a wand that holds five different spells?

Not in the core book, and not with the Craft Wand feat. But there's on real reason that a PC could not make a unique wand, provided that they have both the Craft Wand and Craft Staff feats. (Treat it like a staff, but with the save DC of a wand.)

Remember the first rule of RPGs -- you can go ahead and change the rules to make sense to you. You just should understand why the rules are what they are first.
5th-Feb-2005 06:08 pm (UTC)
Wouldn't you just use the Craft Staff feat and make a really short staff? The only hard rules difference between a wand and a staff is that a wand holds 50 charges of a single spell and a staff holds 50 charges that can be used to cast a variety of spells, I believe. The rest is just cosmetics.
5th-Feb-2005 08:13 pm (UTC)
You can't use Sleight of Hand to hide a staff.

There are sleight enough differences between Craft Wand and Craft Staff --> the latter really should require the former as a prereq. But since it doesn't, if you wanted to make a "wand-sized staff", I'd require you to have both feats in D&D game.

D&D has a built-in understanding that staves are big things that are obviously more powerful than a wand.
5th-Feb-2005 11:44 pm (UTC)
If a pixie sorceror makes a staff, how big is it?
6th-Feb-2005 04:19 pm (UTC)
too small to be used by anyone else.

6th-Feb-2005 10:41 pm (UTC)
That's a grand question considering the player in question is the one I always bring up that plays a fairy, lol. ;-)
7th-Feb-2005 01:54 am (UTC)
Hmm. And suddenly a flippant comment becomes oddly relevant.

Seriously, though. I stand by my reasoning (although I will try to limit the "dickwaving," as my girlfriend insists on calling it from over my shoulder) - an item that holds multple charges of a single spell is a "wand" and would be crafted with the Craft Wand feat, whether that item takes the form of a length of wood, a tiny clay statuette, a hair clasp, or a candy cane. An item that holds multiple charges of a variety of spells is a "staff" and requires the Craft Staff feat, whatever its cosmetics. And incidentally, if you also want it to be a magic weapon, you have to use the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat and pay the appropriate prices. This only holds up, of course, so long as it really is cosmetics we're talking about. Clever players will certainly find ways to abuse my relatively lax attitude on this. "I make a false tooth of cure light wounds ..."

As far as recharging, I think the rules for upgrading/repairing magic items can cover this. You "break down" the original wand for parts and pay the difference between that and the fully charged wand. (Whatever % charges the wand has left, that's whatever % of the cost it defrays?)
5th-Feb-2005 07:50 pm (UTC)
I don't see why you couldn't make a spell or feat or something allowing one to recharge a wand. Oh, and you had better be sorry for two posts in one day!
This page was loaded Aug 21st 2017, 3:06 am GMT.