?

Log in

No account? Create an account
D&D 3E
Spells and Attacks of Opportunity 
30th-Jan-2005 03:33 pm
bitch
Quick question:

When using a spell or spell-like ability, when does it provoke an attack of opportunity? Any time it consumes a standard action? What about spells and spell like abilities that are free actions such as a fairy's invisibility or a quickened spell?

Sorry if this is a rhetorical question...
Comments 
30th-Jan-2005 11:54 pm (UTC)
Spell-like abilities provoke AoOs just as spells do and follow all the same casting defensively/Concentration check rules as spells.

Spells do NOT provoke an attack of opportunity if they are free actions - i.e. quickened spells, feather fall and etc. This means that Spell-like abilities don't provoke AoOs if they're free actions, but do if they take a standard action or more.

Helpful?
31st-Jan-2005 01:50 am (UTC)
vulpez gave you basics, but keep in mind that the AoO is resolved before the event that triggers it. So if something casts a spell and/or uses a spell-like ability, the AoO gets resolved before the spell goes off (making the caster have to do a concentration check if the attack hits and deals damage).
31st-Jan-2005 02:23 am (UTC)
Uh...it's only a rhetorical question if you intend it to be one.
This page was loaded Aug 22nd 2017, 7:33 am GMT.